The start of a new chapter -Reporting for a national newspaper.

 

img_0027Salford City Vs Worcester City – The experience of writing for The Non-League Paper

Reporting on a football match is one thing, reporting with deadlines is another, especially for a newspaper that is sold nationally in supermarkets and newsagents.

Last Thursday I was given the match appointment to go to Moor Lane were Salford City were playing Worcester City in the Vanarama National League North.

I left my house on the Wirral at half past eleven Saturday morning to get my train to Liverpool Lime Street and then connecting service to Manchester Victoria. After a twenty minute bus ride and about a ten minute walk I arrived at the ground at 2pm well ahead of a traditional 3 o’clock kick off, or what was meant to be. At around 2:20pm word got around the press area that the away team were stuck in traffic and therefore kick off was to be delayed by fifteen minutes. As the time went on there was still no sight of the Worcester players and as a result the referee on the day Mr Kevin Mulraine delayed kick off by a further half an hour, meaning kick off was 3:45pm.

The match itself was not a hard one to report on, with two goals in the first half and then a third which was a cracker from 25 yards by Scott Burton toimg_0021 seal the points for Salford City. It was writing up the final report that was a challenge. With the kick-off being delayed it meant that I did not have as much time to get my report sent off to the editors at The Non-League Paper. After waiting around for the managers to be ready for their post match interviews and then writing up the quotes that i was going to use in my piece, it was nearly time, eventually I got my report sent off by 18:27 ahead of a 18:30 deadline.

Overall, a successful day for me, my first report for The Non-League Paper with no real problems apart from Wi-fi being a difficulty which is expected in the career that I am going into and have already embarked on.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

